IOC IPC IAKS Architecture Prizes 2023 , Köln / Deutschland

IOC IPC IAKS Architecture Prizes 2023

The International Olympic Committee (IOC), the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and the International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS) are committed to advocating for excellence in the visioning, design and operation of fully inclusive and universally accessible indoor and outdoor facilities.

Identifying and promoting trends for transforming communities and urban areas into places of active living as well as building sustainable facilities is at the core of this international competition.

The competition aims at increasing the accessibility of all sports and leisure facilities and architectural structures in order to offer all people opportunities to practise and view sport freely and without barriers.

As part of their commitment to excellence, the three organizations are inviting submissions for the 2023 IOC IPC IAKS Architecture Prizes for sustainable, accessible and innovative sports and leisure facilities.

The competition brings to public attention buildings and complexes that integrate

• sensible sustainability and public value,
• exemplary accessibility and universal design,
• strong functional planning and innovation,
• exceptional architectural design.

This competition is organized by the IOC, the IPC and the IAKS. The IAKS is responsible for its organization and staging.

Entitled to enter the 2023 competition are newly built facilities as well as expansions, modernizations, rehabilitations or conversions of existing buildings and facilities. The facilities must have been completed and gone into operation between 1 January 2018 and 31 December 2022. Temporary venue infrastructure / architecture (e.g. demountable or relocatable infrastructure for major sport events) may also be entered in the competition.

The designers/architects and owners (or operators) of facilities are eligible to enter.

The IAKS is entitled to disqualify any submission which does not confirm to the mandatory requirements for the competition.

Submission deadline: 30th April 2023, 24:00 h Berlin time
Results announcement: end of July 2023
Awards ceremony: 24 October 2023

More information and details at